3/5

I have been a huge fan of The Chainsmokers, their unique future/ tropical house blend of musical styles has been tremendous and launched a new branch of chill beats which I absolutely love. From Roses, Don’t Let Me Down to Closer, The Chainsmokers have had some phenomenal tracks thus far. However with Memories, they have lost that identity. I understand they want to be themselves and appease the studio but ended up giving their originality away. Instead of tunes that would be found on the dance floor, which many edm artistes strive to do, Memories has more of a bus ride home vibe to it. My personal favorite was ‘Something Like This’ and there are about 2 other notable mentions but that’s it. Even Kygo’s and Flume’s latest albums were better in my professional opinion. I was really excited for this album but it fell short of my expectations.

